Abraham Kipton, Sharubutu Philibus, Debebe Tolosa, Halima Hussein Kayo, Dinatu Yohanna, others #RunLagos at the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon

The Access Bank Lagos City Marathon, with over 20,000 athletes had participants from 13 nations registering to compete for 92 million naira, the prize money for completing the standard 42.195 kilometres marathon.

The marathon sponsored by Access Bank, started at the National Stadium, Surulere at 7 am, taking runners through the major roads of the Old Lagos, the Third Mainland Bridge to the Lekki – Ikoyi Bridge, terminating at the Eko Atlantic City in Victoria Island.

Abraham Kipton of Kenya was the first to cross the finish line at 2:16:21 with Kipkemboi Hosea (Kenya) and Debebe Tolosa (Kenya) finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively. Halima Hussein Kayou of Ethiopia was the first female to cross the finish line at 2:38:36 with Alice Timbill (Kenya) and Aberash Feyase (Ethiopia) finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively for the overall female category.

Sharubutu Philibus from Nasarawa State was the 1st Nigerian male to cross the finish line while Dinatu Yohanna from Taraba State finished as the 1st Nigerian female.

The event was hosted by Gbenga Adeyinka and had performances from Olamide ‘Badoo’.

“The 42km race is a metaphor for life, the message is for individuals to stay on track and focus on their journey” said Herbert Wigwe, CEO/MD Access Bank PLC “We would like to take advantage of this Access Bank Lagos City Marathon to request that you join your resources with ours to meet the needs of the underprivileged in our society,” he concluded.

There was also a professional wheelchair race of 25km for special athletes.

The world class marathon had in attendance Akinwunmi Ambode, Governor of Lagos State; Honourable Solomon Dalung, Federal Minister for Sports; Hon. Deji Tinubu, Chairman Organizing Committee Lagos City Marathon; Mr Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, President of the Nigeria Stock Exchange (NSE); Osayi Alile, Head Access Foundation, and others.

Abraham Kipton(Kenya) 1st  Kipkemboi Hosea (Kenya) 2nd  and Debebe Tolosa (Kenya) 3rdAbraham Kipton(Kenya) 1st  Kipkemboi Hosea (Kenya) 2nd  and Debebe Tolosa (Kenya) 3rd and their prizesAthletes at the start line at the National StadiumAbraham Kipton crossing the finish lineDebebe Tolosa (3rd) receiving his $30,000 chequeAccess Bank Lagos City Marathon MedalsBadoo performing I Love Lagos at Access Bank Lagos City MarathonAthletes on the 3rd Mainland bridgeGov. Akinwunmi Ambode giving his speechAthletesGov. Ambode and Herbert Wigwe, Hon. Dalung and the decorated Top 3 Nigerian Male AthletesAthletes on Ikorudu Road along PalmgroveGov. Ambode, Hon. Dalung, Herbert Wigwe and the top female athletes of the marathonGov. Ambode, Hon. Dalung, Herbert Wigwe,The Top 3 Nigerian Male Athletes and othersHalima Hussein Kayo and Hon. Minister Solomon DalungGov. Ambode, Hon. Solomon Dalung and othersGov. Ambode, Hon. Dalung, Herbert Wigwe and othersHerbert Wigwe - MD Access BankHerbert Wigwe with Special Athletes(Male)Hon. Solomon Dalung, Evang. Solomon Ogba and othersHon. Solomon Dalung - Federal Minister for SportsHalima Hussein Kayo crossing the finish line as the first femaleGov. Ambode and Herbert Wigwe Presenting Abraham Kipton with the $50,000 chequeHerbert Wigwe with Special AthletesTop 3 Nigerian Female Athletes- Dinatu Yohanna (1st) and others  being decoratedKipkemboi Hosea (2nd) receiving his cheque of $40,000Top 3 Nigerian male athletes -Sharubutu Philibus (1st) and others

Leave a reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail