Bookshelf: Creative Wings announces winners of debut short story competition

by Chi Ibe

A few months ago, Creative Wings launched its first ever short story competition, endowed by young writer Obinna Udenwe with the aim of encouraging budding African writers. Congratulations to the winners!

1st Prize: Fego Martins Ahia – ‘W is for Waiting’

“Our first prize story ‘W is for Waiting’ by Fego Martins Ahia is a beautiful story that portrays the relationship between the girls and their parents. The author depicts the oedipal complex where girls love their daddies intensely, see them as their heroes and will believe no wrong about them.  We can see the girls pushing their mother’s buttons as a lot of girls will secretly admit they deliberately do. This is cleverly shown by the author as well. The resolution is touching and so true to life as most girls grow up to find that their invincible, hero-like dads whom they immortalized, revered and idolized are mere mortals with flaws like everyone else.”

2nd Place: Nwilo Bura-Bari Vincent – ‘Slum Diary’

“Our second prize story ‘Slum Diary’ by Nwilo Bura-Bari Vincent takes us on a trip into the psyche of a young boy and his strategy for thriving in the slums. The reader while enjoying the story is compelled to feel great empathy for this juvenile whose experience is simply a microcosm of the experiences of his kind all over the world. Only a child can truly see something to look forward to in the life that the main character in the story leads. We all can identify with his hopes, dreams and aspirations, maybe not in the way that he does but in a similar way, we draw strength to live one more day and try one more time to overcome the challenges that are inevitable in our individual journeys through life. Nwilo has succeeded in creating a credible work of literature.”

The competition was judged by Ose Ndebbio who teaches literature and language arts. She is also a member of the freelance writers association, Manchester.

One Prize Winner gets a copy of Stephen King’s On Writing, Helon Habila’s award winning book and Obinna Udenwe’s debut novel, The Dancing Bird.

Another Prize Winner gets a copy of Diana Evans’ award winning book and Obinna Udenwe’s debut novel, The Dancing Bird.

The winning stories will also be published on Guerilla Basement, YNaija and the Bookaholic Blog.

Leave a reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail