Northern youth, Igbo leaders set up committee on quit notice

The Coalition of Northern Groups, led by Arewa Youth Consultative Forum and, Igbo leaders in the North met yesterday in Kano and formed a 10-man committee to review plans for the suspension of the quit notice.

According to The Nation, convener of the meeting, Ali Tijani, said at the end of the meeting that the committee’s assignment is expected to be accomplished within 72 hours.

Its terms of reference include coming up with the best modalities for the suspension of the quit notice.

Each side is represented by five members of the committee.

[Read Also: Arewa youth, Ndigbo meet in Kano over quit notice]

They are Chief Chi Nwogu, Eze Ngozi Nwaiwe, Igwe Boniface Ibekwe, Mr Magnus Ihejirika and Mr Chris for the Igbos, and  Mr Abdullahi Toro, Dr Abba Bukar Kagu, Dr Yima Sen, Dauda S. Shamakuri, and Ado Mahmoud for the Arewa group.

Meanwhile, the Coalition of Northern Groups (CNG), in Kano, said yesterday that the quit notice in the Kaduna Declaration was not part of an agenda to use force to eject  Ndi-Igbo from the Northern part of the country

In his remarks at the  Zonal Town Hall Meeting of the North West Zone, the spokesman of the  coalition, Suleiman Abdulazeez, alongside Ambassador Shettima Yerima who is the co- chairman of the group, said that the goal of the ongoing agitation was to save the integrity and the unity of this country, as well as to ensure a peaceful society.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail