Anthony Joshua retains world titles with controversial knock out win against Takam

Nigerian-born British boxer, Anthony Joshua has retained his world title after he technically knocked out Carlos Takam at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday.

The 28-year-old knocked out Takam, who he referred to as a “block of cement” in Round 10.

However, boxing fans have criticised the early stoppage by the referee, stating that Takam was still in control when the match was stopped.

Joshua had earlier opened a huge cut above Takam’s right eye, but the referee cleared him to continue.

The champion also suffered a suspected broken nose after a head clash in the second round.

Joshua eventually stopped his game opponent in the 10th round when the referee stepped in – but the decision looked controversial.

This is Joshua’s 20th straight knockout victory.

Takam stepped in as Joshua’s opponent just 12 days to the bout between the world champion and challenger Kubrat Pulev.

Pulev was forced to withdraw through injury but almost 80,000 tickets were already sold.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail