The star studded Dynamix Awards 2010

by Oyindamola Olofinlua

The recent edition of the Dynamix All Youth Award presented another opportunity for Nigerian youths to be recognized for their efforts in different fields of endeavour.  The award ceremony took place on 21st December, 2010 at the Eko Hotels & Suites with over 2000 students from different Nigerian universities including the Universities of Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt, Benson Idahosa University, Lead City University and Igbinedion University in attendance. The awards started with an interesting red carpet session with Mo’Cheddah and Jesse Jags as the hosts.

Hakeem The Dream was the first performer of the night, and he thrilled the audience with the performance of his popular single, Dey Dere. Yemi Alade’ s beautiful rendition of a Christmas carol was next, and Whizkid stole the show with his performance, proving to all – with his songs and stage presence – that there is a significant place for him in the Nigerian music industry.

The Kennis Music group mesmerized the audience, particularly with Yinka Adefemi’s acapella rendition of Never Felt a Love, which was a favourite with the ladies. Yinka also rendered a single of his own, Money Money Money. Goldie and her troupe of dancers performed next, with Jaywon drawing the Kennis music crew performances to a close. Jaywon’s hit track, moved the crowd so much that the students reacted by ‘spraying’ him with money.

Comedians Seyi Law and Bash kept the audience laughing with rounds of jokes. There were several other performers for the night, including Skales, Lynxx, Whizkid, Dotstar, Tha Suspect and Ill-Bliss. Ice Price performed his hit track, Oleku to a very excited audience, and Mo’Cheddah, Tiwa Savage, Skuki, Jesse Jags and MI shone like a thousand stars.

Keke and D1 of Primetime Africa and Don Jazzy of Mo’ Hits Crew were present to lend their support to the Dynamix Awards team. Don Jazzy generously presented the sum of N250, 000 to the winner of the ‘Most Intelligent’ award category.

The breakdown of the various categories and their winners are as follows:

Favourite Movie Act of the Year – Tonto Dike

Comedian of the Year – Ovie

Best New Artiste – Mo’Cheddah

Most Promising Artiste – Whizkid

Song of the Year – Fi Mi Le, KAS

Role Model in Sport – Obafemi Martins

Role Model in Music Production – Don Jazzy

OAP of the Year – Toolz of the Beat FM

TV Presenter of the Year – VIXEN of STV

Most Intelligent Student – Enioda Joshua,  (University of Lagos)

Best Entertainment Promoter, Diaspora – Tiwa works (USA)

Best Youth Hangout – Rehab

Most Enterprising – G12

Goldie performing

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail