2018 World Cup: Super Eagles in POT 4 ahead of final draws

Following the qualification of Peru for the 2018 World Cup in Russia, FIFA announced the seeding pots for the Final Draws on December 1 on Thursday.

Nigeria was drawn in pot 4 alongside Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia and Serbia.

Fellow African representatives, Egypt and Tunisia are in POT 3.

FIFA on its website said, “It was confirmed in September by the Organising Committee for FIFA Competitions, that all teams will be allocated to (eight-team) pots 1 to 4 based on sports principles.

“The October 2017 edition of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking will be used to allocate all qualified teams to the four pots according to their ranking in descending order, after hosts Russia, who take the top seeding spot. “With those factors in mind, here are the final pots for the Final Draws,’’ the statement said.


POT 1: Russia; Germany; Brazil; Portugal; Argentina; Belgium; Poland; France

POT 2: Spain; Peru; Switzerland; England; Colombia; Mexico; Uruguay; Croatia

POT 3: Denmark; Iceland; Costa Rica; Sweden; Tunisia; Egypt; Senegal; Iran

POT 4: Serbia; Nigeria; Australia; Japan; Morocco; Panama; Korea Republic; Saudi Arabia

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail