African Footballer of the Year: CAF unveils 10-man 2012 shortlist … just one Nigerian left

by Rachel Ogbu

For the 2012 African Footballer of the Year award, the Confederation of African Football, CAF, has released a new shortlist of 10 players.

 The list included the current holder of the title, Yaya Toure and two of his countrymen, Gervinho and Didier Drogba.

Mikel Obi is the only Nigerian left in the race, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from Gabon, is also included.

Shortlist for the 2012 African Footballer of the Year award in alphabetical order:

Alexandre Song, Cameroon

Andre Ayew, Ghana

Christopher Katongo, Zambia

Demba Ba, Senegal

Didier Drogba, Cote D’Ivoire

 Gervinho, Cote D’Ivoire

 John Obi Mikel, Nigeria

 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Gabon

 Yaya Toure, Cote D’Ivoire

 Younes Belhanda, Morocco

 Shortlist for African Player of the Year based in Africa:

 Mohamed Aboutreika, Egypt

 Rainford Kalaba, Zambia

 Stoppila Sunzu, Zambia

 Yannick N’Djeng, Cameroon

 Youssef Msakni, Tunisia

 Other Awards categories:

1. National Team of the Year

2. Women’s Footballer of the Year

3. Women’s National Team of the Year

4. Club of the Year

5. Most Promising Talent of the Year

6. Coach of the Year

7. Referee of the Year

8. Legend Award

9. Fair Play Award

10. Platinum Award

11. Africa Finest XI

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

Comments (3)

  1. Can someone link me with kween I like contact is08036820864

  2. Its between Toure and Drogba. IMO and not because I'm a blue, Drogba deserves it more.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail