Buhari submits nominees for NCC, NERC to Senate for confirmation

The Senate President Bukola Saraki on Tuesday read two correspondences from the President, Muhammadu Buhari for the confirmation of the appointment of members of the of Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission and Nigerian Communication Commission.

This is contained in a statement issued on Tuesday by Charles Akpan, Head, Press and Public Relations.

The statement reads, “The President, in presenting the nominees for confirmation into the board of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission, he depended on section 34 of the Electric Power sector Reform CAP E7 LFN.

“The following were presented for confirmation, they are Professor Akintunde I. Akinwande, Chairman, Sanusi Garba, Vice Chairman, Nathan R. Shanti, Commissioner, Dr. Moses Arigu , Commissioner, Dafe C. Akpeneye, Commissioner, Professor Frank Okafor, Commissioner and Dr. Musiliu O. Oseni, Commissioner.

“Those presented for the board of the Nigerian Communication Commission are Senator Olabiyi Durajaiye, chairman, Sunday Dare, Executive Commissioner, Stakeholders Management, Aliyu Sa’ida Abubakar, Non executive Commissioner, Clement Omeiza Baiye, Non executive Commissioner, Chief Okoi Ofem Obono Obia, Non executive Commissioner, Pastor Ezekiel Yissa Non executive Commissioner and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume, Non executive Commissioner.

“Although the Senate was expected to consider the requests of Mr. President for the confirmation of Chairman and members of the Niger Delta Development Commission and also the confirmation of the appointment of Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria as listed in today’s order paper, both requests were declined to another legislative day.

“The Senate also approved the motion sponsored by Senator Ali Ndume, the Senate leader that the Senators begin debate on the economy from tomorrow.”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail