MTV Base reacts to controversy over ‘Best Naija Tracks’ list

by Isi Esene

International music channel, MTV Base has reacted to the debate brewing on social media over the programme aired on Independence Day titled, ‘The Best Naija Songs Ever on MTV Base.’

According to Alex Okosi, the Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa, the list of artistes and songs featured in the programme was determined by viewers of MTV Base, who voted via the MTV Base website to choose their musical favourites starting from the channel’s launch on 22 February, 2005 till the present day.

Okosi said, “We are thrilled to see the passion with which people are engaging in the discussion about the Best Naija Tracks. There has been concern in some quarters that the list didn’t include some of Nigeria’s most seminal artists and songs – it seems as if some people may have misinterpreted the campaign. This list of tracks, as voted by the public, was never intended to reflect the Best Naija Tracks of all time; the creation of this campaign is part of the build up to our 10th birthday and it was supposed to highlight artistes that have been played on our channel since the launch of MTV Base in 2005, hence the title “The Best Naija Tracks Ever on MTV Base”. We understand that the positioning could have been misleading on some of our platforms and we regret any confusion caused.”

“As a brand, we acknowledge and respect the fact that Nigeria has a long music history beyond the last 10 years and our work since launching MTV Base is to help develop and showcase the best of Nigerian and African music to a global audience. The “Best Naija Tracks Ever on MTV Base” campaign is really about celebrating the new generation of talent who have benefitted from the legends who paved the way for their successes today.”

Okosi continued saying, “The important thing is that everyone has their own views about what makes a great song or a great artist, and we’re keen to hear their thoughts. We are continuing the debate and encouraging music fans to further engage with the campaign via our digital media platforms. We will also be filming a special MTV Base Nigerian music roundtable in Lagos on this topic, featuring artistes, DJs and music industry experts. The roundtable will air on MTV Base in November 2014 as part of the channel’s build up to our 10th birthday celebrations. Simultaneously, MTV Base is challenging music fans to create their own lists of Best Naija Tracks, and to post them on MTV Base social media assets, or to get involved in the conversation by using the hashtag #BaseBestNaijaTracks. Those engaging in the campaign stand the chance to have their comments featured in the roundtable discussion on MTV Base.”

In case you didn’t know, the “Top 20” voted for by MTV Base viewers are:

1. 2Face: African Queen

2. 9ice: Gongo Aso

3. D’Banj: Oliver Twist

4. P Square Feat. Waje : Do Me

5. Wizkid: Holla At Your Boy

6. Davido: Dami Duro

7. Ice Prince: Oleku

8. D’Banj: Why Me

9. M.I.: Safe

10. Olu Maintain: Yahooze

11. Naeto C: Kini Big Deal

12. Davido: Skelewu

13. Banky W: Lagos Party

14. Wizkid: Pakorumo

15. Asa: Jailer

16. P Square: Chop My Money

17. Wande Coal: Bumper To Bumper

18. Dr Sid: Surulere

19. Flavour: Nwa Baby (Remix)

20. KCee: Limpopo

– Bonus Track: Iyanya: Kukere

Other artists/tracks that received an honourable mention included: Styl Plus: Olufunmi; Shank: Julie; DJ Jimmy Jatt: Stylee; Ikechukwu feat. Don Jazzy & D’banj: Wind Am Well; D’Banj: Fall in Love.

Comments (0)

  1. i tot they were going to keep mute on the issue. God save their ass.

  2. the limpopo on the list is a huge mistake.

  3. who were d stupid fans that voted that list?

  4. Thank God for chidi mokeme

  5. We don hear.

  6. they have realised that the “all time ” shouldnt have been there

  7. well said

  8. customers are always right.

  9. they have accepted their mistakes. issorai.

  10. if for fear. naeto c shouldnt be on dat list at all .


  12. better

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail