2015: Plateau gets more polling units

by James Sambo

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has allocated an additional 1,542 polling units to Plateau State bringing the total number of polling units in the state to 4,173.

While speaking during a Strategic Stakeholders Forum in Jos, the state’s Resident Electoral Commissioner, Habu Zarma, said that INEC was in the process of relocating all polling units that were not in public building.

It was learnt that in order to ensure equity, three committees – one for each of the Senatorial zones – have been set up. These committees are tasked with recommending new allocations, relocating existing, naming and renaming polling units.

Zarma stated that the commission has distributed permanent voters’ cards and carried out continuous voter registration in two thirds of the states in the country. He said these were done in phases.

He added that the registration of these cards would be done at the polling units where one was registered and would last for three days, noting that only those who registered during the last voter registration exercise in 2011 are eligible for these card exercises.

The resident commissioner explained that the continuous voters’ registration is an update of the current register and that the exercise is an opportunity for Nigerians who lacked permanent voter card, but had attained 18 years of age and were unable to register or did incomplete registration in 2011.

Zarman stressed that there were polling units that recorded zero registration after AFIS Automatic Finger Identification System had been run on their electronic voter registers, noting that fresh registration would be conducted for these at individual polling units not wards.

INEC recently approved the creation of additional 30,000 units all over the country to bring the total number of polling units to I50,000.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail