9th Ibadan City Marathon: Sharabutu Phillibus scoops one million Naira

Sharabutu Philibus yesterday emerged first male winner of the 9th Ibadan City marathon 2017, while Illiya Pam came second; Abdullahi Ibrahim and Peter Istifanu came third and fourth position in the male category.

Thirty five year old Hudung Gyan Stephen, with number 271 emerged first in the female category of 2017 Ibadan City marathon of 42 kilometers, with Elizabeth Nuhu with number 503 coming second, Kistwana Stephen, Terressa Godwin emerged third and fourth.

Speaking after emerging winner, Sharabutu Philibus with bib number 501 who won the race in 2011, finished 2nd in 2013, 5th in 2014 and 2nd in 2015 commended Splash FM for organizing the marathon.

Earlier in his opening speech, the chairman of Splash/ Lagelu FM and the Maye Olubadan of Ibadan, Chief Adebayo Akande said the “Integrity Marathon Race” was in conformity with global best practices, assuring that good governance, transparency and accountability which are the bedrock upon which the marathon are designed remain the ultimate objective.

Meanwhile, Minister of Youth and sport, Barrister Solomon Dalung has congratulated the Founder and chairman of Splash 105.5 FM, Chief Adebayo Akande for the successful completion of 9th Ibadan City Marathon race.

The Minister stated this while presenting a plague of honour to Chief Adebayo Akande yesterday in recognition of outstanding contribution toward the sponsoring of marathon race since inception in Oyo state.

He however called on well meaning Nigerians to support sport at the grass root level.

Similarly, Oyo state governor senator Abiola Ajimobi has given kudos to Splash 105.5 Fm for ensuring that Ibadan and Oyo state in general remains relevant on the sporting calendar.

The governor who was represented by the honorable commissioner for youth and sport in Oyo state, Barrister Abayomi Oke stated this while flagging off the Ibadan City marathon race.

Meanwhile, the management of Splash 105.5 FM wishes to appreciate Vice President of Federal republic of Nigerian, Professor Yemi Osinbajo for his large heartedness and his exemplary leadership quality in ensuring that the splash Marathon race went on without disruption, during his visit to Ibadan, despite the short notice.

The management equally appreciates the commissioner of police in Oyo state CP Abiodun Odude, state commandants, Nigerian security and civil defence corp NSCDC and the Oyo state sector command federal road safety corp for their support and tireless effort in ensuring a hitch event on Sunday.

The organizers also extend gratitude to media partners, social media influencers for the support and hype, before, during and after the event.




1ST POSITION                         –        SHARABUTU PHILIBUS (NASARAWA)

2nd POSITION                         –        PAM  ILIYA (NASARAWA)

3RD POSITION                        –        IBRAHIM ABDULLAHI (NASARAWA)

4TH POSITION                        –        PETER ISTIFANUS (PLATEAU)

5TH POSITION                        –        YOHANNA FRIDAY (PLATEAU)



1ST POSITION                         –        HUDUNG GYANG STEPHEN (PLATEAU)

2ND POSITION                        –        NUHU ELIZABETH (NASARAWA)

3RD POSITION                        –        KISTMWA STEPHEN (PLATEAU)

4TH POSITION                        –        THERESA GOGWIM (PLATEAU)

5TH POSITION                        –        SHITTU ADIJAT (EKITI)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail