Ba, Belhanda, Katongo, Toure are nominees for BBC African Footballer of the Year

by Rachel Ogbu

The nominee list for the 2012 African Footballer of the Year Award is out.

British Broadcasting Corporation, BBC, released a five-man shortlist recently and it includes Moroccan Younes Belhanda (Montpellier), Ivorian Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Senegalese Demba Ba (Newcastle United) and Christopher Katongo, who won this year’s African Cup of Nations with Zambia.

Didier Drogba, who won the award in 2009, is the only past winner included  and African football fans have until 6.30PM on Thursday, December  to vote for their choice.

Come December 17, the winner will be announced after voting online.

Black Stars midfielder, Andre Ayew, won the 2011 edition.

Former winners include:

2011 : Andre Ayew (Ghana)

2010 : Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)

2009 : Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

2008 : Mohamed Abouterika (Egypt)

2007 : Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)

2006 : Michael Essien (Ghana)

2005 : Mohamed Barakat (Egypt)

2004 : Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria)

2003 : Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria)

2002 : El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)

2001 : Sammy Kuffour (Ghana)

2000 : Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail