The Film Blog: And the (AFRIFF) winners are…

And after a week of feverish activity, the 2016 edition of the Africa International Film Festival has come to a close. We’ve kept a close eye and this year has seen significant buzz for new hands, in particular Ojukokoro and Green White Green (which we’ve had our eyes on for some time now). The event wrapped up last night with an awards show largely swept by ’76 (anticipation couldn’t possibly be more high for this film, at this point,) 93 Days, and Green White Green.

Check out the full list of winners.

  • Best Feature Film – ’76
  • Best Documentary – Nowhere To Run
  • Best Director – Izu Ojukwu (’76)
  • Best Female Lead – Bimbo Akintola (93 Days)
  • Best Male Lead – Ramsey Nouah (’76)
  • Best Screenplay – Emmanuel Okomanyi (’76)
  • Best Nigerian Film – Green White Green
  • Best Short Film – Lodgers
  • Best Animation – Agorkoli
  • Audience Choice Award – Slow Country
  • Special Jury Mention, Most Outstanding Film – Akin Omotosho
  • Special Jury Mention, Lead Actor – Ifeanyi Dike Jr
  • Special Jury Mention, Lead Actress – Somkele Idhalama

Congratulations to all!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail