The 8th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards celebrates five young Nigerians

Winners, L-R- Ajiroba Oladipupo, Babafemi Oyediran, Babatunde David, Tolulope Sangosanya and Priscillia Usiobaifo's representative

by Hauwa Gambo

On Thursday 24 November 2011, LEAP Africa celebrated five young leaders at its 8th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards at MUSON Centre, Lagos. The winners:  Oladipupo Ajiroba, Babatunde David, Babafemi Oyediran, Tolulope Sangosanya and Priscillia Usiobaifo were showcased for their exemplary efforts to creating positive social impact in communities across Nigeria.

Every year, LEAP solicits applications and nominations of youth who have initiated social change projects in their local communities.  After a rigorous selection process, ten nominees are chosen by an independent panel of judges and the five winners are announced at the annual awards event.

 At the 8th Awards, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, Minister of Youth Development, in his keynote address, encouraged the winners to remain committed to their positive initiatives across Nigeria.  He also enjoined Nigerian youth to be more positive, optimistic and involved in change efforts. The second speaker, Mr. Tonye Cole, CEO, SAHARA Group Nigeria, challenged the youth present to be prepared to strive for the change that they hope to see in Nigeria.

LEAP also celebrated beneficiaries of its Leadership, Ethics and Civics (LEC) Programme in public secondary schools in Anambra, Lagos and Ogun States at the event. Outstanding schools and student groups were recognized for their commitment to improving the lives of individuals within their local communities.

The evening ended with a thrilling live performance by Chydinma, who was joined on stage by the LEC students in celebration of their awards. Over 800 guests were at the event.

The Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards is always one of LEAP’s most highly anticipated events of the year bringing young people from across the nation together to learn from inspirational stories of young change agents, gain insights from experienced leaders.

Mrs. Siene Allwell-Brown presenting the Best Teacher Award in Anambra State
Mrs. Funmi Omogbenigun, Head Communications MTN presenting the Best School in Ogun State Award.




Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail