These are the criteria for choosing the next Senate President – APC

The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress has listed some criteria for the Senate presidential candidate.

The criteria was stated on Tuesday night, at a meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari.

The two main challengers for the office of the Senate President are Senators Bukola Saraki (Kwara Central) and Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North).

According to Punch Newspapers, some of the criteria agreed on by the NWC and others at the meeting are as follows;

1. The Senate President must come from the geopolitical zone with the second highest number of votes, after the North-West, at the Presidential election held on March 28.

2. The Senate president must not have any corruption charges hanging on his or her neck.

3. The Senate President should be one of the most ranking senators in the current Fourth Republic.

A senator who attended the meeting was said to have revealed that the executive members of the party were mandated to present a consensus candidate for the post of Senate president  based on the listed criteria, within three days.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail