The Media Blog: The Nigerian politicians who own media houses

We just thought: it would be fun to put up a list of some of the politicians in Nigeria who own major media houses.

Not a long list. But interesting regardless.

James Ibori – Daily Independent

Bola Ahmed Tinubu – Radio Continental, TV Continental, Adaba FM, The Nation

Ben Murray Bruce – Rhythm FM, Silverbird TV

Hot FM – Chris Anywanwu

Sam Nda-Isaiah (we should say failed politician though) – Leadership

Jimoh Ibrahim (ugh) – National Mirror

Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu – The Champion

ifeanyi Ubah – Authority

Interesting: Only one woman. Great national spread.

We know former vice president, Abubakar Atiku has Gotel TV/Radio. But we said major national media – not kurukere under-funded movement.

Oh and there is Raymond Dokpesi – hustling politics and media, and every now and again, owing his staff salaries while he lives a lavish lifestyle.

But AIT is powerful, however you look at it. Next in influence only to the NTA. So good on him.


H/T to’s Micheal Abimboye for correcting us on Nda-Isaiah and updating the list with Ubah!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail