See who won the popular vote for the Y!/YNaija Person of the Year 2017 | Overall winner to be announced December 31st

It has taken us the larger part of the month to collate all of your votes, but we finally have a winner – at least for the popular vote. And you have put your votes to work and chosen the person you all consider more impactful, charismatic and influential than anyone else in the country this year.

The Y!/ voting for Person of the Year 2017 began earlier this month, and the overall winner will be unveiled to the public by the editors on December 31.

Before that, we have tallied the popular votes – and the winner by a considerable margin on the poll is… singer and songwriter… Wizkid.

There was no doubt that Ayo ‘Wizkid’ Balogun captured the imaginations of Nigerians in the country and abroad diaspora and introduced a strain of patriotism so rare that we scarcely could believe how strongly it would grow and how much it would endure. He became the first Nigerian artist who has built the bulk of their career in Nigeria to fill up the iconic Royal Albert Hall and he had his album released under an international music imprint, songs off it officially charting on the Billboard Hot 100. Wizkid won the popular vote with a record 47% of all votes, followed closely by techpreneur Iyinoluwa Aboyeji with 22% of the total votes cast.

Full breakdown of the votes by percentage are below:

Congratulations to the readers and fans of Wizkid who voted, as well as the campaigners across social media platforms who engaged with the Person Of The Year poll in 2017, you remind us that the reader is an impassioned voice often ignored in journalism.

The Y!/ Person of the Year is in its sixth year and is awarded this year to the individual who has most visibly influenced the Nigerian society for good in the past year, breaking new boundaries or consolidating on gains – and driving the advancement of the public, especially young people.

The editors announced there was no winner for its first edition in 2011. The 2012 winner was entrepreneur and Africa’s richest man, Aliko Dangote; Jason Njoku of iRoKO was the 2013 winner while the former minister of education, Obiageli Ezekwesili, was named winner of the YNaija Person of the Year.

Josephine Ugwu, the airport cleaner who returned the sum of N12 million to its rightful owner, was named winner of the YNaija Person of the Year in honour of her honesty, patriotism and goodwill in 2015 and the Nigerian Paralympics team was chosen as the Y!/YNaija 2016 Person of the Year joint winners for their excellent, record breaking at the 2016 Paralympics.

The highly anticipated overall winner, which will be announced after assessment by the editors of Y!/ will be made on Saturday, December 31. The popular vote will be taken into consideration but that will not be the deciding factor.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail