AITEO CAF Awards 2018: Mo Salah emerges Player of the year | Full list of winners

Egypt and Liverpool Forward, Mohamed Salah has for the second consecutive year emerged as the African Player of the year, beating his Liverpool team mate Sadio Mane and Arsenal Forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to clinch the continent’s top football prize.

“This award is very big for me, I love it because I saw it when I was young and I always had a dream to win it one day,” Salah said when collecting his trophy for his 2018 exploits. “I’m proud to win it twice, I must thank my family and my team mates, and I dedicate this award to my country, Egypt,” Mo Salah said as he received his award in Dakar.

The 2018 UEFA Champions League finalist had in 2017 edged both players to clinch his first award on the continent, in a vote decided by the technical directors and head coaches of 56 CAF member associations.


Here’s a list of the other awards and winners:

Women’s National Team of the Year – Nigeria (Super Falcons)

Men’s National Team of the Year – Mauritania (Al-Murabitun)

Women’s Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s Coach of the Year – Hervé Renard (Morocco)

Best Federation President – Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)

Youth Player of the Year – Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)

Goal of the Year – Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

Women’s Player of the Year – Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

Men’s Player of the Year – Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

African football legends Kanu Nwankwo (Nigeria), George Weah (Liberia), Emmanuel Amuneke (Nigeria), Frédéric Kanouté (Mali), Samuel Eto’o(Cameroon), Patrick M’Boma (Cameroon), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) Rashidi Yekini (Nigeria-repped by his daughter), Mo Salah (Egypt) and El Hadji Diouf (Senegal) were also honoured at the awards.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail