Why Ambode’s commissioners won’t be screened before October 13

Governor of Lagos state, Akinwunmi Ambode will not be swearing in members of his cabinet anytime soon as the Lagos state House of Assembly adjourned sitting till October 13 without screening the nominees.

Ambode had last Monday sent his list of commissioners to the House for screening.

But on the floor of the Assembly on Tuesday, it was decided to set up a 15-man ad-hoc committee to secretly screen the nominees and make recommendations to the House.

Explaining this new practice, Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, said that the decision to set up committee was collectively taken by the lawmakers during parliamentary meeting.

The ad-hoc committee to screen the nominees is headed by the Deputy Speaker of the House, Wasiu Eshilokun-Sanni, other members include Deputy Majority Leader, Olumuyiwa Jimoh, Chief Whip, Rotimi Abiru, Deputy Chief Whip, Omotayo Oduntan, Minority Leader, Akeem Bello.

Others are Victor Akande, Lanre Ogunyemi, Rotimi Olowo, Yinka Ogundimu, Mohammed Folajimi, Bisi Yusuf, Oladele Adekanye, Ibrahim Layode, Segun Olulade, and Dayo Fafunmi.

Obasa further explained that the committee would first screen the nominees before presenting its report to the House when it reconvenes on October 13.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail