7 political parties come back to life – They are…


Seven political parties de-registered by the Independent National Electoral Commission on August 18, 2011, have been brought back to life by the Court of Appeal sitting in Enugu.

In a unanimous judgment delivered on Thursday by Justice Tom Yakubu, the Appeal Court ordered the restoration to life of all the seven de-registered political parties.

The seven political parties are: Democratic Alternative, DA; National Action Council, NAC; National Democratic Liberty Party, NDLP; Masses Movement of Nigeria, MMN; Nigeria Peoples Congress, NPC; Nigeria Elements Progressive Party, NEPP and National Unity Party, NUP.

The parties were de-registered by the electoral body for failure to win any seat in the state House of Assembly or National Assembly, pursuant to Section 78 (7) of the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.

However, a human rights lawyer, Jezie Ekejiuba took up their case by challenging the de-registeration of the parties at the went to a Federal High Court sitting in Awka.

The Federal High Court presided over by Justice J. Ojukwu, had dismissed the suit for lack of merit, saying that INEC had the power to de-register political parties under the Nigerian constitution.

Ekejiuba then proceeded to the Appellate Court where he eventually got a favourable verdict.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail