Africa’s first Nobel Laureate, Wole Soyinka to lead announcement of The Future Awards 2013 winners… Meet the Judges | See the Categories
Mrs Jummai Ajilola and Late Mr. Efere Ozako presenting an award at The Future Awards 2012.

by Isi Esene

The Central Working Committee for The Future Awards, which is going Africa-wide this season, has formally announced the judges for 2013 awards, as well as the judges for Young Person of the Year – The Africa Prize.

The Africa Prize is presented in partnership with the youth office of the African Union Commission.

The awards are judged over a two-month period, supervised by a central working committee, a board of judges and an independent audit committee – an 8-year rigorous process with checks and balances that has produced many of Nigeria’s most prominent young leaders in the past decade.

The Board of Judges is made up of the country’s brightest young journalists across print, electronic and online media, and the independent audit committee is made up of distinguished Nigerians across sectors. The committee list is below:



Prof. Uche Azikiwe (MFR), Professor, University of Nigeria Nsukka.

Olusegun Adeniyi, Chairman of the Editorial Board, Thisday.

Betty Irabor, Editor-in-Chief/Publisher, Genevieve.

Leke Alder, Principal Consultant, Alder.

Nkiru Olumide-Ojo, Head, Corporate Communication, Forte Oil.

Biola Alabi, Managing Director, MNET Africa.

Mo Abudu, Chief Executive, Inspire Africa.

Pastor Ituah Ighodalo, Senior Pastor, Trinity House.

Dr. Reuben Abati, Special Adviser to the President on Media & Publicity.

Fela Durotoye, Chief Executive, Visible Impact.

Ndidi Nwuneli (MFR), Founder, LEAP Africa.

Funmi Omogbenigun, General Manager, Corporate Affairs, MTN.

Segun Odegbami (MON), Chairman, The International Sports Academy.

Peace Anyiam Osigwe, Chief Executive, Africa Movie Academy Awards.

Enitan Denloye, Director of Communications, Etisalat.

Folake Ani-Mumuney, Head, Corporate Communication and Marketing, First Bank Nigeria.

Hon. Jibrin Abdulmumuni, Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Finance.

Muhtar Bakare, Chief Executive, Farafina.

Jimi Agbaje, Founder, Jaykay Pharmacy.

Frank Nweke, Director-General, Nigeria Economic Summit Group.

Adeola Azeez, Chairperson, Executive Council, WimBiz.

Bolanle Austen-Peters, Chief Executive, Terra Kulture.

Detoun Ogwo, Executive Director, AfterSchool Graduate Development Centre.

Toni Kan, Managing Partner, Radi8 Creative.

Halleluyah Atuyota Akporobomeriere, Comedian & President, Ali Baba Hiccupuray3rd.

Adesuwa Onyenokwe, Publisher, TW.

Hafsat Abiola-Costello, Special Adviser, Millennium Development Goals, Ogun State.

Jummai Umar-Ajijola, Executive Chair, The Business People.

Professor Wole Soyinka with the Executive Director of The Future Project, Chude Jideonwo
Professor Wole Soyinka with the Executive Director of The Future Project, Chude Jideonwo


Elikem Nutifafa Kuenyehia, Managing Director, Oxford & Beaumont, Ghana.

Chichi Okonjo, Publisher, Ventures Africa.

Victoria Trabosh, President, Ithafari Foundation, Rwanda.

Gbenga Sesan, Executive Director, Paradigm Initiative Nigeria.






“We’re also excited to announce that Professor Wole Soyinka, who has supported our work over the past decade, will be leading some of Africa’s best to present the winners of this year’s awards in August,” said Mfon Ekpo, who is chief operating officer of The Future Project.”

“The Future Awards salutes exemplary contributions towards the positive shaping of (society) and deserves the commendation of all,” Prof. Soyinka has said about the awards. “It serves as inspiration to other members of the youthful generation, and even to more seasoned achievers of the rest of society.”



1.The Future Awards Prize in Advocacy & Activism

2.The Future Awards Prize in Science & Technology

3.The Future Awards Prize in Community Action

4.The Future Awards Prize in New Media

5.The Future Awards Prize in Entertainment Talent

6.The Future Awards Prize in Entertainment Enterprise

7.The Future Awards Prize in Journalism

8.The Future Awards Prize in Business

9.The Future Awards Prize in Public Service

10.The Future Awards Prize in Professional Service

11.The Future Awards Prize in Agriculture

12.The Future Awards Prize in Fashion & Style

13.The Future Awards Prize in Arts & Culture

14.The Future Awards Prize in Enterprise Support

15.The Future Awards Prize in Education

16.Young Person of the Year – The Africa Prize

There will be no public voting for The Future Awards 2013.  The awards hold in August, 2013.


– Media Partners include Channels Television, Silverbird TV, Guardian Life, Nigeria Info, BellaNaija, LindaIkejiBlog, Premium Times, 360Nobs, LadunLiadiBlog, InformationNigeria, Jobberman and Ventures Africa. OfficialMedia Partners are Africa Magic, Cool FM, Wazobia FM and Y!/

For more information, visit @TFAAfrica on Twitter or the website

One comment

  1. Why is there no award category for writers? I find this very strange. Nigeria is one country that has produced some of the best writers in the world. The emerging writers deserve to be recognised. This omission is “one kind”.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail