28 permanent secretaries are on ICPC watch list

Still on the anti-corruption war in the country, there are strong indications that the Independent Corrupt Practices and Related Offences Commission (ICPC) has put 28 permanent secretaries on its watch list.

This is coming after the clampdown on wealthy civil servants by the ICPC, which had already seized 24 properties and several cars from three officials of the Ministry of Niger Delta.

The ICPC Chairman, Ekpo Nta, had in a document described the seized properties as “excessive of the emoluments of the affected officers.”

An official of the ICPC said there was no way the agency would probe ‘super rich’ civil servants without extending its searchlight on the permanent secretaries heading the ministries where corrupt activities were perpetrated.

“The permanent secretaries in federal ministries are on ICPC watch list. We will investigate them to ascertain whether or not they possess questionable property built with stolen public fund.

“If we are already investigating super wealthy civil servants, then the permanent secretaries cannot be left out,” the source said.

Some of the suspected permanent secretaries include Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development’s Sonny Echono, Mrs. Fatimah Nana Mede, Ministry of Environment; Hajia Binta Bello, Ministry of Aviation; Mrs. Rabi Shuaibu Jimeta, Ministry of Youth Development; Mr. Dauda Shuaibu Kigbu, Ministry of Works; Mrs. Anastasia Mabi Daniel–Nwobia, Ministry of Finance; Ambassador Bulus Lolo, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, Ministry of Information; Abdullahi Ahmed Yola, Ministry of Justice; Dr. James Obiegbu, Ministry of Police Affairs; and Dr. Ezekiel Oyemomi, Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development.

Others are Dr. Tunji Olaopa, Ministry of Communication Technology; Dr. Godknows Igali, Ministry of Power; Nkechi Ejele, Ministry of Culture and Tourism and National Orientation; Linus Awute, Ministry of Health; John Chukwu, Ministry of the Federal Capital Territory; Mr. Musa Istifanus, Ministry of Water Resources; Mr. Taiye Haruna, Ministry of Petroleum Resources; and Mr. Mohammed Bashir, Ministry of Transport.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail