“We have been having successive accidental leaders since 1999” – Na’Abba

A former Speaker, House of Representatives, Ghali Na’Abba says all the Presidents since Nigerian went back to democratic rule in 1999, have been accidental.

He is, therefore, referring to former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo, Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, Goodluck Jonathan and the incumbent President Muhammadu Buhari.

Mr Na’abba stated this in Abuja at the  2016/2017 Matriculation and Fellowship Endowment Ceremony of the National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS).

[ICYMI: Nigeria has a history of accidental presidents – Mathew Kukah]


  • According to him, accidental leadership brings about trial and error in governance which he said has been the lot of Nigeria since 1999 till date with attendant poor governance and frustrations on the part of Nigerians.
  • Circumstances at hand or situations on ground  have to a large extent over the years determined who and who was elected into office in Nigeria as President since 1999 as against level of preparedness on the part of the leaders in terms of clear vision and programmes obtainable in most democracies of the world culminating in accidental leadership for the country.”
  •  He expressed regret that leadership recruitment process in the country has been hijacked by a few politicians.
  • I believe that not just the Legislature, every arm of government that is serving the purpose of governance must invest in exposing democracy to the people.”
  • These politicians (who deny Nigerians opportunity to contest elections) have stopped the growth of democracy. And it is true that unless democracy is allowed to grow, we cannot achieve the desired political growth, we cannot achieve the desired economic growth and we can also not achieve the desired social growth in our country. And that is why we are still in the political, economic and social doldrums. We have been having successive accidental leaders since 1999.”
  • We have been advocating that tutorials must be taking place on a continuous basis for stakeholders in democracy from the local governments to the states. Every stakeholder particularly party executives because what is sad today is that most of those who hold positions at the executive level on our political parties cannot distinguish the duties, functions and distinction between and among our political institutions. So, with this lack of knowledge, it is almost impossible for them to understand the kind of people that should serve at various levels”.

On his part, the Speaker, House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara said the National Assembly had made appreciable efforts in fulfilling its democratic obligations to Nigerians by paying particular attention to capacity building.

Dogara explained that parliamentary capacity development was important to ensure a balance of power among the branches of a democratic system.

He said that the knowledge imparted to participants would build a pool of competent staff and members to enhance international best practices in the discharge of their duties.

The Director-General NILS, Prof. Ladi Hamalai, congratulated the students and urged them to take their studies seriously.

Over 85 students matriculated in Masters in Legislative Drafting, Masters in Parliamentary Administration as well as Masters in Legislative Students.

Besides Na’Abba, four former Presiding Officers of the National Assembly received NILS Award of Fellowship. They include former Senate President from 1979 to 1983, Sen. Joseph Wayas; Dr Ken Nnamani (2005 to 2007); Rt. Hon. Aminu Bello Masari (2003 to 2007) and current Governor of Katsina State and former Deputy Senate President Sen. Ibrahim Mantu (2001 to 2007).

One comment

  1. GEJ, TYPICAL EXAMPLE. Just imagine massive looting spree under his watch and supervision, WHAT A COOL AND DEADLY ”GEJ”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail